Enabling Fully Homomorphic Encryption through Hardware Acceleration

a KU Leuven spin-off

Our Team

  • Ingrid Verbauwhede

    Professor Dr. Ir. Ingrid Verbauwhede is leading the hardware team at the internationally renowned research group COSIC since joining the KU Leuven in 2003. She has been a beneficiary of two ERC grants in cryptographic hardware design, CATHEDRAL (2016-2022) and BELFORT (2022-2027), the latter specifically focused on hardware for advanced cryptographic protocols. Before joining KU Leuven, she has experience working in the US in Silicon Valley, at UC Berkeley, UCLA and Silicon Valley companies. 

  • Jan-Pieter D’Anvers

    Dr. Ir. Jan-Pieter D’Anvers has obtained a PhD on the topic of design of cryptographic protocols, after graduating from his masters with greatest distinction (summa cum laude). He is one of the main designers of the quantum-safe encryption scheme Saber, which was a finalist in the NIST standardisation effort. He has won both the IBM innovation PhD award and the Nokia Bell Scientific PhD Award for his PhD research. 

  • Michiel Van Beirendonck

    Ir. Michiel Van Beirendonck is near the end of his PhD on the topic of hardware acceleration for FHE, after graduating from his masters with greatest distinction (summa cum laude) with the congratulations of the examination committee. He has worked on implementations of second generation FHE schemes in context of the DARPA FHE project and on third generation FHE schemes. 

  • Furkan Turan

    Dr. Ir. Furkan Turan has obtained his PhD on the topic of FPGA acceleration of cryptographic algorithms. He has worked on both implementations of second and third generation FHE schemes and has developed solutions to move these calculations into Amazon Web Services. He was a 2 times finalist in the OpenHW competition of AMD/Xilinx, besides wining the best master thesis award.